March 2024.

With a firm dedication to enhancing the quality of Early Childhood Development (ECD) services within the Naledi Local Municipality, seven community ECD centres are being provided with specialised support tailored to their unique needs. Currently in Phase 3, this programme underscores a strategic emphasis on infrastructural improvements, aimed at fostering a secure environment for both children and staff. Concurrently, it facilitates access to grant funding from the Department of Basic Education, thereby ensuring a more sustainable foundation for these centres of learning.

“With this programme, we provide comprehensive support tailored to each of the ECD centre’s unique needs. This includes provision of learning resources; training of practitioners, which encompasses the Children’s Act and classroom management; and specialised training for Principals in the application of the National Curriculum Framework for children,” explained Claire Phutieagae, Community Liaison Officer for Waterloo Solar.

Funded by Waterloo Solar in collaboration with Early Care Foundation, the programme aims to offer tailored support to local ECD centres based on their unique needs and challenges identified following a thorough assessment in 2021, which highlighted challenges.

This multi-phase programme is currently focused on improving infrastructure with input from the Departments of Health and Social Development, with a focus on ensuring a safe environment. Additionally, ongoing monitoring and mentoring efforts are in place to uphold the delivery of quality ECD services.

Joyce Maoto, Principal of one of the beneficiary ECD centres, expressed her gratitude, referencing the training received from the programme, saying, “As ECD principals, we have always been undermined because of the work we do. However, when we receive training to upskill ourselves, we gain confidence and carry ourselves with pride as we now know how critical our roles are in the lives of children.”

This support extends to seven ECD centres across Dithakwaneng, Huhudi, Colridge, Colourblock, and Broedesput. These centres include Tshidiso Creche, Dolls Day Care, Rekopane Day Care, Bokamoso ELC, Moremogolo Creche, Kgatelopele ELC, and Boikhutso Preschool.

Contact us

National Enquiries

021 670 1400


Cape Town Office Address:
2nd Floor, Fernwood House, The Oval, 1 Oakdale Road,
Newlands, Cape Town, 7700
Claremont, 7735

Vryburg Office Address:
45 de Kock Street, Office 3, Vryburg,
North West, 8600

Contact Us