Fact Sheet

  • The project company Waterloo Solar (RF) (Pty) Ltd is owned by IDEAS Fund managed by Old Mutual (SA) Ltd, Reatile Solar Power (RF) (Pty) Ltd, Phakwe Solar (RF) (Pty) Ltd, AREP (African Rainbow Energy & Power) and Cicada Community Trust.
  • The solar field comprises 261 360 modules of 86.248MWp (at STC), and has an installed capacity of 75 MW.
  • It is situated in the Naledi Local Municipality, 10kms outside Vryburg in the North West Province, and spans 171 hectares.
  • Land: 10 kms SE of Vryburg, on the Farm Waterloo No 992 within the Naledi Local Municipality.
  • Waterloo Solar received Environmental Authorisation in March 2013
  • Construction of the solar field commenced in May 2019.
  • Commercial Operations was achieved in November 2020.
  • Engineering, Procurement and Construction Contractor: Juwi Renewables South Africa
  • Operations & Maintenance Contractor: Juwi Renewables South Africa
  • The solar field is connected to Eskom’s Mookodi switching station. It generates approximately 75 MW of clean, renewable energy to the national grid, addressing the ongoing and increasing need for electricity in South Africa.
  • The solar field produces enough green electricity to supply approximately 84 000 medium-sized South African homes, and in so doing avoids approximately 125 000 tonnes of carbon emissions each year when compared to traditional fossil fuel power fields.
  • Waterloo Solar positively impacts the communities in the Naledi Local Municipal area, including Vryburg, Kismet Park, Huhudi, Colridge and Dithakwaneng.

Contact us

National Enquiries

021 670 1400


Cape Town Office Address:
2nd Floor, Fernwood House, The Oval, 1 Oakdale Road,
Newlands, Cape Town, 7700
Claremont, 7735

Vryburg Office Address:
45 de Kock Street, Office 3, Vryburg,
North West, 8600

Contact Us